The Stogie Guy


Review: Perdomo Habano Corojo
December 11, 2008, 6:58 am
Filed under: Reviews | Tags: , ,
Up Close and Personal

Up Close and Personal

Well here’s the first review from the Stogster! And fitting that this is one of my all time favorite cigars. The Perdomo Habano Corojo Presidente 7×56… That’s a mouth full… and so is the cigar! I enjoy a large range of different kinds of cigars from mild to full body. This one falls into the medium category with me. It’s got a nice pull, a “tight but not too tight” construction which allows you to draw just the right amount of smoke… which to me is a great thing. I’ve had many a cigar where my lungs get a great exercise trying to get some smoke, but this definitely isn’t one of those. Besides the wrapping, Perdomo released a large variety of sizes to suit any smoker, from the 5×52 Robusto to the 7×56 Presidente.

The build is great, the leaf is even better. Perdomo really picks winners when they make the Corojo. It’s not bland and it doesn’t over power the senses, it’s got that right mix of wrap leaf and quality long leaf filler blend. And yes, it is a blended filler. Perdomo uses filler tobacco grown from three of their farms and blend them together to make this excellent cigar.

The Perdomo Habano Corojo is by far my favorite Bar Room smoke. It doesn’t give off a light smoke, but neither is it chokingly heavy. I frequent a bar where smoking cigars is allowed and when I smoke this one I get fewer complaints about “That guy with the cigar” and more “Hey! What kinda cigar is that? Where’d you get it?” (Yes, I’m from Philly and that’s how we talk… add an A to everything). And also I haven’t set off any smoke alarms yet with this choice, knock on wood.

I give this smoke a 4 1/2 out of 5 stars and seriously recommend this to anyone who wants a very enjoyable smoke for a decent price (around $7-$8 for the Presidente).

The Group Shot

The Group Shot

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

OH hey, nice review. Does this cigar remind you of any other cigars in that price range? I’m just trying to get a feel for the taste.

Comment by Matt

In the same price range? I don’t think I came across one that tasted like this. Perhaps the closest thing I’ve smoked to it was a Rockey Patel Edge, but it doesn’t have quite the bite that the Edge has. It’s a more mellow taste with a hint of some kind of nut.

Comment by martyj83




Leave a Reply

