The Stogie Guy


Review: Excalibur 1066… The Dark Knight
December 19, 2008, 1:50 am
Filed under: Reviews | Tags: ,
The Side Long View

The Side Long View

No, there is no Bat-Signal flying high in the air and no guy dressed in a rubber suit leaping from rooftop to rooftop. This is a Review about the Hoyo De Monterrey Excalibur 1066, aka The Dark Knight. I was rummaging through my cigar shop the other day and said to myself… “Ya know, You only smoke lighter colored stogies… you should try a dark”. So I’ve had a regular Hoyo De Monterrey Excalibur and was felt it was a good smoke that most everyone could enjoy. So I hurried over where they’re kept and took a look. And immediately the 1066 caught my eye. It was short and very dark and looked like it would take the same amount of time to smoke as my ride home from work (roughly 35-40 minutes). Which I guess right because as I was pulling up to my house it was roughly a nub.

zoomband

Now, I generally choose my cigar by color and smell. I subscribe to the theory that the darker the cigar, the more potent it is. Boy was I wrong… This my look like a heavy smoke but it was very enjoyable and the smoke from it was of the medium variety. It had a very earthy taste and if you really reach for it you could get a small taste of a dark chocolate. It gave off a rather pleasant aroma and the ash was whiter then I expected which gave it a very cool look when you have a inch or two of ash on the end contrary to the dark wrapper.

The build of the cigar was what I expect from Hoyo, good quality and a medium tightness giving you a great draw. I never have to exert my lungs to get a puff and I wasn’t over loaded with tons of smoke. In the end I was very surprised by this selection and from now on I will not ever judge a cigar’s taste by it’s wrapper. This was a very delightful smoke and I very much recommend this to someone looking to move up from mild brands of cigars. 4 out 5 stars for the Dark Knight.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

