The Stogie Guy


Review: Camacho Havana Monarca
January 6, 2012, 7:33 pm
Filed under: Reviews

This cigar has a little bit of back story to it. In late October my girlfriend (sorry ladies, the Stogie Guy has a gf) was on a family vacation at Myrtle Beach, South Carolina. Due to my hectic school schedule I was not able to go, but I did receive a phone call from her telling me how her mother said she should get me a gift since I’m so good to her (Gentlemen, win a woman’s mother over and you’ve won all future battles with your girlfriend). So she’s in a local cigar shop and doesn’t know what to buy me, so I shoot for the moon. My cigar shop doesn’t carry Camacho and I have been begging and pleading to try one ever since I learned Ron Perlman (of Hellboy fame) loves them. So she finally gives them to me and I’m at my local watering hole, downing beer after beer and watching some very entertaining karaoke when I decide it’s that time of the night when I need a cigar. Luckily my bar is one of the few bars that welcomes cigar smokers with open arms and full pints of beer.

Camacho Havana Monarca

I lit this little bad boy up and I almost squealed at how good it was. Now it might have been the copious amounts of Yuengling Lager that I had that night but this cigar just set off all the taste buds in my mouth. It was silky, smooth & creamy. You will never hear me say stuff like “undertones of hazelnut…”, that’s just not my style. This tasted like the perfect compliment to a ice cold beer. Since then, I had forced my cigar guy to stock these and order me my own box. After smoking the Camacho completely sober, I still stand by my original impression of this cigar. Though I will now say the first quarter of an inch is rough and then it’s right to smooth town. The only problem it seems with this cigar is it’s availability, my cigar guy had to wait a month before he could get two boxes. Either they are that popular or Camacho is having trouble keeping up with production. Whatever the case, if you see this cigar (hard to miss in the off yellow box), grab it as quickly as you can. I definitely recommend the Monarca size (basically a Robusto) because it’ll last you about 45 minutes to an hour and is reasonably prices (between $6 & $7.50).

Out of 5 puffs, I give it a 4 1/2 only because the first quarter of an inch is a bit rough.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

