The Stogie Guy


Review: Man O’ War Virtue
January 7, 2012, 7:40 pm
Filed under: Reviews

After a few puffs (Cigar is darker in pic then in real life, damn iPhone camera)

Wrapper: Ecuadorian Connecticut
Binder: Nicaragua
Filler: Nicaragua
Strength: “Mild”, But I’d say more the stronger end of Mild.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

First off, I love Man O’ War’s naming system and logo. It’s a logo that just says to a man “If you don’t smoke this cigar, then you’re not really a man”. Maybe it’s just me, but that’s what it says to me, but moving on. Looking at this cigar, it’s a lot lighter of a wrapper then I’m accustomed to. And I have to say if I saw it on the shelf next to it’s darker brothers I would not have chosen it. But I recieved it a variety pack and felt daring this morning. I’m so glad I did, it’s surprisingly smooth with a lot of flavor. I can definitely taste a hint of coffee to it and I’m not the type that can usually pick out those things in a cigar that’s not expressly flavored. Usually a cigar tastes like a cigar to me but I judge them on smoothness, amount of smoke and whether or not it stings my tongue. So far the flavor is great, the smoke is surprisingly full and the pull is nice and easy with a punch cut. The Virtue is a well constructed cigar, half way through there’s no signs of unraveling or flaking and the head of the cigar is keeping together quite nicely despite my habit of nibbling at it while puffing. I also found that it does not easily go out, letting it sit for a solid minute I can pick it up and keep right on puffing and only needed relighting after I took a potty break. This is a great cigar for someone who’s not a novice smoker but who’s still new, smoking Connecticut wrapped cigars but want to step up their game a bit. To me, this falls in the range somewhere in between a light bodied and medium bodied cigar.

In the end, this cigar was a true surprise to me. I was expecting something too light for my palette with no flavor and even less smoke density… Damn was I wrong! I give this a 8 out of 10 and would say any Newbie that wants a smooth and flavorful step up from a starter then the Man O’ War Virtue is the cigar for you.

 

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

